A Sincere Request

9 Sep

Hi Everyone,

As some of you may know, today marks the Jewish holiday of Rosh Hashanah, which is the beginning of the new year (5771, this time) according to the lunar calendar.  I am not an especially religious person in general, and my concept of God is nebulous at best, but Rosh Hashanah (and next week’s Yom Kippur, the day of atonement) provides an opportunity for both self-reflection and community building, which are my favorite aspects of organized religion anyway.

Specifically, the Jewish people are mandated to ask forgiveness from anyone they may have wronged in the previous year.  For me, wiping the slate clean like that is useful and desirable, and to have a once-a-year clearinghouse for apologies helps me curb my natural instinct to say I’m sorry for everything all the time.  So even though, as I mentioned, my connection to the Jewish faith is not as strong as it could be, September 9th is as good a day as any to mend fences.  So here goes:

If you are reading this, thank you for taking the time and energy to slog through my fumbling treatise on religion.  I concerned that I may have offended, hurt, insulted, or otherwise trespassed against you in the past year, and I want to apologize sincerely.  In the upcoming twelve months, I hope to put more goodness into the world and emit less selfishness and pettiness.  I am working towards using personal interactions (as well as professional opportunities in education and comedy) to put forth joy and warmth into the world, and I want to cut down on negativity and malice.

So, if you can find it within you to forgive me for any damage I may have done to you in the past year (or beyond that, if there are any older, unresolved issues), it would mean a great deal to me.  If there are any matters that you would like to talk about in greater depth, please feel free to e-mail me at joshgondelman [at] gmail [dot] com or get my phone number from me there, and we can talk things out in voices.  In any case, thank you once again for taking the time to read this and consider my request.  Do not feel compelled to respond.  Just the act of forgiveness is enough.

I hope to see you all soon!
Josh

3 Responses to “A Sincere Request”

  1. Jono September 9, 2010 at 7:18 pm #

    No dice Gondelman! I’m not falling for this again. My religion requires me to not forgive you. and furthermore burn your Holy Book on 9/11, as I have been doing since even before 9/11. Anyone else that is doing that stole my idea.

  2. ThatTJ (Young) September 10, 2010 at 4:15 pm #

    Hey Josh…I appreciate your sincerity. You are certainly forgiven. Obviously, what happened between us is no one else’s business but ours. So in an attempt to be vague, I’ll just say that I’ll no longer refer to you as “Fondle-man.” Take care, buddy.

  3. Kay Gondelman September 15, 2010 at 7:14 pm #

    Hi, Funny man
    I have nothing to forgive you for. Just have a happy and healthy New Year. Love you.

Leave a Reply

