Surpies!

28 Aug

Good morning!  (Or whenever it is now!)

Yesterday was a little more relaxed than the day before.  I mixed a nap in with my adventures, which turned out to be much-needed.  I got a lot of writing done, jokes and some work on this musical I’m trying to write.  Musical?  Oh yeah!  But Josh, do you write music?  No!  What?  Uhhh, don’t worry about it.  I’m working on it.

I went to Kick Butt Coffee, a local coffee place, for some caffeine and a mid-afternoon treat.  And while I was there I did something I’d been meaning to do for a long time.  Something I hadn’t done in a while and had been putting off for no good reason.  I ate a slice of pie.  Now, normally, I don’t go a week without pie (give or take).  But I can’t even remember the last time I had any.  Probably this week I will do some blogging about my love of pie in general, but let’s just say that it is one of my top ten favorite things in the world.  The pie I ate yesterday was key lime, which I like to eat and also to make.  Secretly it is very easy to do.  Not eat.  That’s what they call an “open secret,” that it’s easy to eat pie.  But making a key lime pie is not that hard.  Even the crust.  I know.  Secret’s out, pie!

The key to lime city. What?

Also, I can’t speak highly enough of the Cap City Comedy Club.  The staff is friendly and fun and helpful.  The  hamburgers are delicious.  And the shows have all been amazing.  Four -for-four on great crowds.  The audiences have been large and enthusiastic but not too talky or shouty (with the exception of the “Jaaaaaaaager” girls on Wednesday).  So good!  Thanks to Cap City for having me.  And I’m not just saying this because the manager told me she read my blog yesterday.

I’ve got two more shows tonight, and then I fly home early tomorrow.  Next week I’m doing some scattered stuff in NY and then I’m back to babyschool on Friday.  Whoa.  Today the family of a little girl I used to teach is driving from San Antonio to have dinner with me in Austin.  I’m so excited.  I am going to go out and get them some presents.  What do kindergarten students like?  Shouldn’t I know this already?

Also, just a quick annoying favor.  If you listen to my podcast “The Two Man Canoe With Dan and Josh,” and you enjoy it, would you mind writing a little review on iTunes so we can maybe cultivate a little bigger fan base?  That would be really swell.  And if you don’t listen, but you might like to, search “Two Man Canoe” on the iTunes store.  The content can be a little explicit/adult at times, but it’s fun and great, and Dan Boulger and I have our favorite people on and talk to them about stuff.  That’s the premise.  Anyway, enjoy!  Or, if you’re already enjoying, let iTunes know!  We have some other photographic content at our blog http://www.twomancanoe.wordpress.com  Ch-check it out!

Thanks!
Josh

One Response to “Surpies!”

  1. angelmcastillo August 29, 2010 at 8:47 am #

    Josh! Please tell me when you are in NYC so I can see you and say hi. I can’t believe it’s been a year since we’ve seen each other, but I look forward to another chance!

Leave a Reply

