Big Pie Country

17 Jun

Good morning!

The more I learn about Norfolk, the more I think it’s swell.  First of all, I met my host family (Bill and Jeannie), and they are so nice!  They’ve been married for 37 years, and Bill is recently retired after having owned a body shop and a muffler shop in town for a very long time.  They took me and my Norfolk brother Pat McGann out for dinner, which was really nice.  Joe Wong, John Ramsey, and their host family came as well.  We ate peanuts and put the shells on the floor, as per our hosts’ instructions.  I’d like to get them a gift, but my go to is Omaha Steaks (despite their incessant calls and daily e-mails), and here, it’s less special, as Omaha is only two hours away.

We went to the amateur showcase last night, which was a lot of fun.  The Johnny Carson Theater is huge and the acoustics are great.  I’m excited to perform there tomorrow!  The host is an attorney and comic actor who doesn’t really do standup, but he was very charming.  He did, however, bring on the first contestant in a weird way: “We have one comic who didn’t make it tonight, and also another comic who didn’t make it tonight.  Kevin O’Brien, are you here?  No?  Okay.  He didn’t make it.  And the other guy…he died.  Yes, it’s very sad.”  Then he went on to tell one of the deceased comedian’s jokes.  The show must go on!  Oh, boy!

Afterwards, we went back to the hotel and sat at the restaurant and bar there.  They serve entire pies for eight dollars until close.  Uhhh, major league victory.  I ordered a cappuccino cinnamon cream pie for our table.  Also, I made friends with last year’s festival winner and this year’s host (one guy) Kermet Apio by asking him the question: “What is your favorite pie…I mean, what are some of your favorite pies?”  Obviously you can’t ask someone to choose.  Several of us sat and ate pie and/or had some drinks until late-ish.  Kermet is buying tonight.  (The pie.)  It’s going to be a good week.

Also, as an afterthought from yesterday, the midwest accent is probably the closest accent to my personality, but it’s too late in life to cultivate a new vocal inflection now.  C’est la vie.

Talk to you soon, doncha know.

Josh

PS. Pictures soon, I promise.  Probably mostly of pie.

2 Responses to “Big Pie Country”

  1. Jamie June 17, 2010 at 4:36 pm #

    It is not Omaha Steaks intent to overwhelm you with calls and emails. Please email me your phone number and email address and I would be happy to either remove you from our lists or change the frequency at which you receive phone calls and emails. I can be reached at jamiet@omahasteaks.com.

    Jamie Toledo
    Customer Care Manager
    Omaha Steaks

  2. Sarah June 17, 2010 at 4:49 pm #

    I didn’t know the pie was capuccino cinnamon. That may have to be the next baking challenge! MmMMmmmmMm!

Leave a Reply

