Shawn and Josh have not died of dysentery. Or: Leaving the Oregon Trail.

26 Mar

What’s Shakin’ Bloggarino?

Yesterday was a pretty low-key day.  We started out in Portland and decided to embark on some Oregonian adventures to start our morning (okay, afternoon) off.  Seeing as it was 12:30 pm, we decided against sampling one of their astounding number of gentlemen’s clubs.  Good choice, I think.  

Instead, we decided to head over to Washington Park and check out the Rose Garden and Japanese Gardens before we ventured north for Seattle.  We entrusted our navigational duties to Tom Tom, our trusty robot manservant, but he took us to the Rose Quarter, which is the arena where the Portland Trailblazers play their home games.  Not the same.

Eventually, we meandered over to the right part of town, and we took a stroll through the aforementioned gardens.  The roses were, shall we say, unabundant, on account of the season, but there were several other lovely flowers and a very pleasant aroma.  

610 Varieties of Roses.  0 In Bloom.

610 Varieties of Roses. 0 In Bloom.

 

Unless this is a rose?

Unless this is a rose?

 

Definitely not roses.  But still flowers.

Definitely not roses. But still flowers.

 

 

 

 

I didn’t pay for the full access to the Japanese Gardens, but I did convince the ticket taker to let me sneak in to the gift shop to buy some presents, and on the way out, I snapped some photos.  Like a heist for your eyes, it was.

Japan, this way.

Japan, this way.

 

Just like real Japan, I imagine.

Just like real Japan, I imagine.

 

 

 

Then…Onwards to Seattle!  It’s amazing how a ten hour day of driving can make a three hour day of driving feel like a breeze.  I feel like I could have driven it in my sleep (but I didn’t!).  We took the brief jaunt of 170 or so miles up I-5 and met up with our friend Melissa for dinner.  She made American Chop Suey with real vegetables!  Mmmmm.  Not dying of malnutrition.  She even did a portrait of me on her favorite artistic medium, the Etch-A-Sketch.  I used to do lots of self-portraits with one of those, back when I looked like a staircase.

Me with some Seattle landmarks.  Etch-a-sketch.  2009.

Me with some Seattle landmarks. Etch-a-sketch. 2009.

 

 

Off to Laughs in Kirkland for a fun show where we met fun people, and then off to Pegasus Pizza for a show that made me homesick for Sally O’Brien’s.  The comics in every city we’ve been to have been very cool and talented.  It’s pretty great.  Lots of shows in Seattle this weekend!  Hooray!

Peace Out, Blogscout,

Josh

One Response to “Shawn and Josh have not died of dysentery. Or: Leaving the Oregon Trail.”

  1. Nate March 26, 2009 at 7:57 pm #

    “I used to do lots of self-portraits with one of those, back when I looked like a staircase.” = Great.

    Really enjoying these by the way…

Leave a Reply

